The Golden Rule

It has often been said, “do unto others as you would have them do unto you”. (And not only by religious people!) This is a sound piece of advice, because it encourages forethought in our actions that will most likely prevent negativity when well done.

Now I guess it would be silly to assume, but I did think, well, then I’ll be treated nicely in return! However, like most assumptions that is a silly ideal way of thinking. Nonetheless, I just realized this morning that it is not to be expected. (Expectations are often the opposite of useful).

But once you take away that reward and nicety at the end of the exercise, what are you left with. A half-second later I realized, you do it anyway. You treat people how you would like to be treated regardless of how they treat you.

Because that is what keeps you positive. Following one’s own moral code/conscience is extremely important and very rewarding in itself! It is different from the pleasant feelings that arise from feeling well-treated and appreciated. But even more important! It makes your self-esteem. In addition, I’ve noticed NOT having self-esteem decreases what you can take away from being treated positively-and many others have believed so as well, psychologists, etc.! Also, feeling purposeful and confident generates from following one’s own conscience. So, I will work on doing so. On treating people the way I believe that I and all people ought to be treated ideally. Perhaps karma will pay off in some abstract way-but I won’t expect it. And more likely, I will feel good about myself and feel that I am doing the right thing-very important!

A lot of my experiences agree with these observations. For some reason, post-high school a few things changed about me. Firstly, I increasingly was more vocal, assertive and firm about my opinions. Not in the arguing way, in the I-stand-my-ground-am-not-just-part-of-a-flock way. There is a sort of crowd mentality that can easily develop and take away from a person’s individuality and I think it affected me a lot while in my big high school! Secondly, I increasingly spent time with the people I really enjoyed being with and felt positive around-and decreasingly spent time with the people I often felt negative around! These things helped me be more myself and more happy and they are inextricably linked! So I’m sure that continuing to be true to myself by trying to treat everyone ideally will further increase positivity in my life-and probably others’ lives as well!

Happy holidays! And if this isn’t one of your holidays, well, have a great day! 🙂 Any thoughts?

2 responses to “The Golden Rule

  1. Hi Sophia, Thanks for sharing this introspective examination of the golden rule. It is so true in my experiences that I have the right to do the action, but not the right to the results I want or expect. I just have to do, what comes next flows from a complex field of other influences, not just my own. Great post!

Leave a Reply

